About Us

Bishop Mupandasekwa Coart of Arm

We are pre-dominantly a rural-diocese serving the Church’ mission at the frontiers of the country. Most of our missions and parishes are located in the peripheries of the country where the poverty of the communities served is real not imagined. As a diocese we are involved in a number of life-giving pastoral activities ranging from education, health-care delivery, parish work, and social work among others. In addition, we are a discerning, responsive and pro-active diocese that is always moved by the signs and needs of our time.


The Diocese runs eighteen parishes. Of these parishes, three are in Chinhoyi town and the rest are either in semi-urban centers or deep in the bushes of the rural areas. Our parishes and missions are grouped into deaneries. Chinhoyi has three deaneries namely, Central Denary, Western Denary and Eastern Denary. Each of these deaneries is headed by a Dean—Priest. The Central Denary is comprised of Corpus Christi Cathedral, St. Peter’s Parish, Mushawebentania, St. Kizito-Murombedzi, St. Francis Xevier-Kutama, St. Rupert Mayer-Makonde, Sacred Heart-Banket and St. James-Mutorashanga. Marymount Mission, St. Rita-Rushinga, Kristo Mambo-Mt. Darwin, St. Albert’s Mission-Centenary, Moyo Musande-Muzarabani, St. Raphael Mission- Chitsungo and St. Joseph-Guruve constitute the Eastern Denary. Finally the Western Denary is comprised of St. John’s-Alaska, St. Peter & Paul-Murereka, Christ the King- Mhangura, St. Boniface-Hurungwe, St. Christopher-Karoi and St. Barbra- Kariba. In all our parishes, our significant mission is that of heralding the breaking in of God’s Kingdom through the administration of sacraments and provision of ongoing formation for the laity. Our parishes also stand as symbols of unity amongst a people of different faith and political affiliations. We thus remain pillars of hope in a country that has experienced hate, intolerance, violence, decaying communal moral fabrics in terms of respect for human dignity, disintegration of families, economic collapse and ever-growing rural and urban poverty. The pastoral team of the diocese is responsible for policies and planning of the smooth running of parishes in collaboration with the priests in charge of the parishes.



We are very much involved in the formation of the young through education. As a diocese we believe in the formation of young people. Good or bad citizens are a point to the quality of education the nation provides. We believe that when you educate a child you educate a family, community and the nation at large. Moved by this realization, the Diocese of Chinhoyi runs five mission high schools (St. Albert’s, St. Rupert Mayer, Marymount, Kristo Mambo and St. Boniface) and a youth training school (The Chinhoyi Training Center). The youth training center specializes in woodwork, machinery, metal work and motor mechanics. The training center was founded as a response to the hopelessness of the school leaving young adults. Chinhoyi Diocese, as a Family of God, desired and worked through this school to restore hope in our young adults.

In terms of our education, the mission schools have remained a beacon of excellence in a country that has experienced utter economic, social, educational and moral collapse. We strive to increase the number of our mission high schools because we have realized that the harvest is bountiful but our schools are few hence we are praying to the owner of the harvest that he may send forth more learning facilities that will respond to the needs of God’s people in our Diocese.

In addition we also run four primary schools, namely, St. Rupert Mayer, St. Albert’s, St. Boniface and Mahombekombe and five pre-schools. The approach in our schools is holistic. We are concerned with the whole person. We are known for offering the best education. We evangelize through our schools. We give witness to Christ who always welcomed children and made them a part of God’s Kingdom. The Diocesan Education Secretary heads the Education sector.


Since the founding of Chinhoyi Diocese, health issues have been one of those critical areas that the diocese took seriously. When the diocese was founded, there were literally no government hospitals in the rural areas that we are currently serving. Malaria, dysentery and other such diseases were a menace. As a discerning, responsive and pro-active diocese we read the signs of the time as requiring us to open up mission hospitals in the frontiers of Chinhoyi diocese.  Currently, we are running four hospitals, namely, St. Rupert Mayer-Makonde, St. Albert’s-Centenary, Chitsungo-Mbire and Marymount-Rushinga in very difficult and poor rural areas. These areas are physically difficult places characterized by bad to none-existent road network systems as our mission hospitals are all situated in the periphery of the Country. St. Albert’s and Chitsungo have been made District hospitals. Notwithstanding the location of the hospitals, which entails low revenue we offer the best health service delivery. The Diocesan Health Coordinator is responsible for all our hospitals in collaboration with each hospital’s local administration.